Annual National Hunger Strike Commemoration, August 27


Press Release / Preas Ráitheas

13654401_116801658760493_5224312638201648873_nOn August 27, 2016 the Hunger Strike Commemoration Committee will host the Annual National Hunger Strike Commemoration in remembrance of all those who died on Hunger Strike for the cause of Irish freedom.

Organisations belonging to the Republican Movement including Sinn Féin Poblachtach will be in attendance along with various Republican Flute Bands.

This year the primary speakers are Mary Ward from Donegal.  John Joe McCusker, Fermanagh and Sinn Féin Poblachtach Ard Chomhairle and Maura Harrington from Mayo.

This is the 35th anniversary of the 1981 Hunger Strikes when 10 young men died so selflessly so that the Irish cause would not be criminalized by Thatchers political lapdogs.  We urge everyone to make a special effort to attend.

Cars and buses are travelling from primary locations in all provinces.  Contact your local RSF Cumann, Email; or contact RSF Donegal on facebook for more information.

Let us Rally to Remember the Supreme Sacrifice of all Our Hunger Strike Martyrs.

Críoch / ENDS

Republican Sinn Féin
Sinn Féin Poblachtach


Sinn Féin Poblachtach
Teach Dáithí Ó Conaill,
223 Sráid Pharnell, BÁC 1, Éire

For confirmation contact;
Des Dalton, President: 086-3291809
Seán Ó Dubhláin, PRO: +353 89 481 9514 or ‘’
Ard-Oifig: 01-872 9747

Ranganna:[RSF News] Statements